Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar nuestros servicios. Si continúa navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Puede obtener más información en nuestra política de cookies.

restauración

ficha técnica

A WEDDING ON THE BANKS
A WEDDING ON THE BANKS
(edición digital)
2014
416
978-1-4022-9491-4
Epublication content package
English
9,26
(IVA inc)*
  • comprar ahora

    tu libro al instante

  • Ver dispositivos compatibles
  • ¿Es la primera vez que compras un eBook? Clica aquí

Permisos sobre el eBook

Copiar/pegar: Prohibido.
Imprimible: Prohibido.

DRM o protección anticopia (para saber qué es clique aquí)

Si

sinopsis

Another bawdy, poetic, crazy quilt of a book...-The New York Times Book Review

Amy Joy Lawler, the last of Mattagash, Maine's founding clan, just announced her engagement to Jean Claude Cloutier-an outsider! Now the typically tranquil backcountry town is buzzing with the news and everyone is gleefully anticipating the social event of the year.

As the guests roll in, Amy Joy's scandalized mother takes to bed in protest, the no-good Giffords plot to steal the wedding gifts and hubcaps, and motel owner Albert Pinkham devises new schemes to fill his cash register.

Meanwhile, on hearing the news, Amy Joy's aunt downstate plots to return to Mattagash for good against her husband's wishes, while her son carries on an affair with an Elizabeth Taylor look-alike behind the back of his Valium-addicted wife.
When this volatile assortment gathers in church on the big day, hilarious and wacky results ensue.

At once funny, insightful, and heartbreaking, A Wedding on the Banks is a perfect for fans of Olive Kitteridge (Elizabeth Strout), The Language of Flowers (Vanessa Diffenbaugh), and The Good House (Ann Leary) who will fall in love with Mattagash and its people.

More from Mattagash, Maine:
The Funeral Makers (Book 1):
Mattagash, Maine: a quiet town rocked by scandal, seduction, mayhem, blackmail, and the only recorded case of beriberi on the entire North American continent!
Wedding on the Banks (Book 2)
The Weight of Winter (Book 3):
Surviving the winter will be hard dealing with each other is another story.
The One-Way Bridge (Book 4): Return to Mattagash-the anything but tranquil town where a mysterious dead body has just been found in the woods.

What readers are saying about A Wedding on the Banks

a riot, so very funny and also sad.

This book combines humor and true heartbreak in ways that few authors are capable of.

What reviewers are saying about A Wedding on the Banks

When these folks get together, the resulting mix of zany comedy, pathos, and sense of place makes worthwhile reading.-Library Journal

 As downright knee-slapping, laugh-out-loud a novel as I've read.-Washington Post Book Review

A hilarious, high-spirited, it's-great-to-be-alive hoot of a novel.-Newsday

A generous and genuine entertainment.-New Yorker

What people are saying about Cathie Pelletier

Cathie Pelletier generates the sort of excitement that only writers at the very top of their form can provide.-Stephen King

Nobody walks the knife-edge of hilarity and heartbreak more confidently than Cathie Pelletier. Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls

It is Pelletier's gift to be able to coax the drama from stony ground without artifice or sentimentality.-Boston Globe
An ambitious, fearless novelist.-The Washington Post

Cathie does a wonderful job of capturing [her characters'] moods and loves and losses, and yearnings...Her writing is lovely and so descriptive Annie Philbrick, Bank Square Books, Mystic, CT

Sharp stuff...Her sentences are powerful and unique as snowflakes.-New York Times


*Todos nuestros productos incluyen el IVA, ampliar información


otros libros del autor

A MARRIAGE MADE AT WOODSTOCK
lugar de edición: US
año de edición: 2014
formato: Epublication content package
páginas: 336
+ info
THE BUBBLE REPUTATION
lugar de edición: US
año de edición: 2014
formato: Epublication content package
páginas: 288
+ info

comentarios de los usuarios/usuarias