"Esta web utiliza cookies para facilitar la navegación por ella y para realizar análisis de su uso, incluida la elaboración de perfiles de navegación con fines publicitarios. Si continua navegando, consideramos que acepta su instalación. Para obtener información detallada sobre las cookies que utilizamos, incluyendo cómo configurar su navegador para rechazarlas, pulse aquí."

restauración

ficha técnica

EST. LIT. OCCIDENTAL: EPOCAS  / GENEROS
ULYSSES AND US
ULYSSES AND US. THE ART OF EVERYDAY LIVING
2009
416
RÚSTICA
978-0-571-24254-2
ENGLISH
añadir a favoritos

sinopsis

Ulysses continues to be one of the central books of the twentieth century and this is an audacious new take on it. It was never meant to be an abstruse a book for the elite, argues Declan Kiberd. It is a book for the common people, and offers a humane vision of a more tolerant and decent life under the dreadful pressures of the modern world. Leopold Bloom, the half-Jewish Irishman who is the book’s hero, teaches the young Stephen Dedalus (modelled on Joyce himself) how he can grow and mature as an artist and an adult human being. Bloom has learned to live with contradictions, with anxiety and sexual jealousy, and with the rudeness and racism of the people he encounters in the city streets, and in his apparently banal way sees deeper than any of them. He embodies an intensely ordinary kind of wisdom, Kiberd argues, and in this way offers us a model for living well, in the tradition of Homer, Dante and the Bible (on all of which Joyce drew in the writing of his book).


*Todos nuestros productos incluyen el IVA, ampliar información


otros libros del autor

comentarios de los usuarios/usuarias